The team at The Taber Law Firm is fully equipped to fight almost any Oklahoma criminal charge you are facing. With years of experience, mountains of legal knowledge, and deep understanding of the local courts, judges and prosecutors, we offer our clients a unique approach to criminal defense. This approach has been the ticket out of legal trouble for countless clients. It could be yours, too.
Below, we discuss the types of criminal defense cases we handle. Our areas of practice are broad and diverse, but if you don’t see your charge listed below, don’t worry. Instead, call The Taber Law Firm at 580-226-4400 to discuss your legal options.
Oklahoma police and prosecutors take driving under the influence (DUI) seriously. Even a misdemeanor DUI could result in jail time, and the fines for a first-time DUI could add up to more than $10,000. If you are convicted, you will also have to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle and lose your driver’s license — possibly for years.
The good news is that you can fight your Oklahoma drunk driving charge to give yourself a chance of avoiding these harsh punishments.
In Oklahoma, a charge of driving while impaired (DWI) is somewhat less severe than a DUI charge. You can be charged with DWI if your BAC was between 0.05 and 0.08 and there was evidence that your ability to control your vehicle was impaired.
If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) exceeds 0.08 while you are in control of a vehicle, Oklahoma law holds that you can be charged with DUI.
An aggravated DUI charge suggests that your BAC was very high — at least 0.15 at the time of the BAC test.
Drug possession, drug trafficking and many other drug-related crimes can lead to long prison sentences in Oklahoma. Without a strong legal defense to your drug charge, it’s just your word against the police officer’s. But our drug crime attorneys can help you build a bulletproof defense to give you the best possible shot at beating your drug charge.
Possession of a controlled dangerous substance (CDS) is often charged as a misdemeanor, but certain aggravating factors can make this charge a felony. If you have been charged with possession of marijuana or a CDS like heroin, methamphetamine, LSD, cocaine or ecstasy, contact a criminal defense law firm.
If the police say it looks like you intended to sell the drugs that were allegedly in your possession, you could face the much more serious charge of possession with intent to distribute.
Drug possession implies that you are accused of carrying a small amount of a controlled substance. Trafficking implies that you were carrying a much larger quantity. And the potential penalties for drug trafficking in Oklahoma are serious, including long prison sentences.
In Oklahoma, convictions for violent crimes come with harsh punishments. We’re here to help you avoid those punishments.
First-degree murder is punishable by death or life in prison in Oklahoma. For second-degree murder, you could face 10 years to life in prison.
Felony manslaughter in Oklahoma can land you in state prison for two to four years for a second-degree conviction and more than four years for a first-degree conviction.
Assault and battery charges can vary widely in Oklahoma, depending on whether you allegedly used a weapon, whether the incident is considered domestic abuse and various other factors.
In Oklahoma, domestic violence is an assault, battery, or both against a current or former spouse, family member, romantic partner, roommate, or co-parent. A first offense with no aggravating factors is usually a misdemeanor. However, if there is a pattern of abuse, a child was present, the alleged victim was pregnant, or the alleged victim suffered great bodily harm, the charge and associated penalties can become much more serious.
One accusation could affect your life forever. If you are convicted of a sex crime in Oklahoma, you could go to prison, pay massive fines, be forced to register as a sex offender and have trouble securing jobs and housing for decades. Fortunately, experienced sex crime attorneys can help.
Believe it or not, first-degree rape is punishable by death, according to Oklahoma criminal statutes. Although this punishment is no longer constitutional for this crime, you could still face years in prison and a host of other criminal penalties.
Even if the sex was consensual, you can still be charged with statutory rape if you are an adult and the alleged victim was 15 or younger.
Human trafficking is a felony in Oklahoma. You could face five years to life in prison or a fine of up to $100,000 if you’re convicted.
Convictions for white collar crimes like embezzlement and fraud can ruin your career and your life. Trained defense l can help you defend yourself against these serious charges.
The severity of your embezzlement charge will depend on how much money you are accused of embezzling. Jail or prison time for embezzlement can range from less than a year to up to 10 years.
Fraud can take many forms — healthcare fraud, insurance fraud, credit fraud, mortgage fraud and identity theft are just a few common examples. The potential punishments for fraud are serious and can vary widely, depending on the details of your case.
Prison time for burglary can range from two to seven years (second-degree burglary) and seven to 20 years (first-degree burglary).
For robbery, a first-degree conviction can put you in prison for 10 years or more. Second-degree robbery can lead to a prison sentence of more than 10 years.
Being charged with a crime in Oklahoma is serious. But you still have time to avoid harsh criminal punishments. Trusted criminal defense attorneys can give you the best possible chance of getting your life back and avoiding incarceration and fines.
To discuss your unique case with the attorneys at The Taber Law Firm, call 580-226-4400 or contact us online.
Each of the criminal charges discussed above will be a felony or misdemeanor, depending on the nature of the alleged crime and Oklahoma’s charging guidelines for the act in question. We understand that the situations that lead to criminal charges are complicated. And the charges you are facing may be difficult to understand.
We’re here to walk you through each potential punishment tied to your charge and the best ways to avoid a conviction.
No matter what you hear people say, all criminal charges are serious and require your attention. Even a seemingly minor misdemeanor charge could land you in jail for as long as a year and darken your criminal record for years.
If you have been charged with a felony, it’s critical that you speak with criminal defense attorneys as soon as possible. Every Oklahoma felony charge has its own sentencing guidelines, but a felony conviction could be punishable by decades in state prison or even death. This is no time to close your eyes and pretend your case isn’t happening. It is happening, and if you don’t fight the charge, you could face the repercussions of a conviction for the rest of your life.